Research Development Council

Chair

  • Eric Chapman, Assistant Vice President for Research Development
    2114 Lee Building  |  Phone: 301-405-7136  |  Email: echapman@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Danica Lovelace | Phone: 301-405-3712  |  Email: lovelace@umd.edu

Co-Chair

  • Dr. Erin Fitzgerald, Director of National Research Initiatives
    2114D Lee Building  |  Phone: 301-405-4462  |  Email: erinf@umd.edu

Members

Agriculture and Natural Resources

  • Adel Shirmohammadi, Professor and Associate Dean for Research
    1419 Animal Sciences/Agric.  |  Phone: 301-405-2459  |  Email: ashirmo@umd.edu
    Assistant: Rubie Mize  |  Phone: 301-405-4049  |  Email: rgmize@umd.edu

A. James Clark School of Engineering

  • Don Woodbury, Director of Innovative Partnerships
    3136 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building  | Phone: 301-405-9760 | Emailwoodbury@umd.edu

  • Rob Briber, Associate Dean for Research
    2141 Chemical and Nuclear Engineering Building  |  Phone: 301-405-7313  |  Email: rbriber@umd.edu
    Assistant: Julie Berry  |  Phone: 301-405-7765  |  Email: jeberry@umd.edu

Arts & Humanities

  • Linda Aldoory, Associate Dean of Research
    1102A Francis Scott Key Building  |  Phone: 301-405-7364  |  Email: laldoory@umd.edu
    Assistant: Ashley Richerson  |  Phone: 301-405-2095  |  Email:  arichers@umd.edu

Behavioral and Social Sciences

  • Jeff Lucas, Professor and Associate Dean
    4137 Art/Sociology Building  |  Phone: 301-405-6435  |  Email: jlucas2@umd.edu

College of Education

  • Margaret J. McLaughlin, Professor & Associate Dean       
    3119 Benjamin Building  |  Phone: 301-405-2337  |  Email: mjm@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Jude Mosely  |  Phone: 301-405-2336  |  Email: jmosley@umd.edu

College of Information Studies

  • Susan Winter, Lecturer and Associate Dean for Research
    4105B Hornbake Library, South Wing  |  Phone: 301-405-4989  |  Email: sjwinter@umd.edu

College of Journalism

  • Sarah Ann Oates, Professor
    2100L John S. and James L. Knight Hall | Phone: 301-405-4510 | Email: soates@umd.edu

Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences

  • Wolfgang Losert, Associate Dean for Research
    1147 Physical Sciences Complex  |  Phone:  301-405-0629  |  Email: wlosert@umd.edu
    Assistant: Lisa Holder  |  Phone: 301-405-4906  |  Email:  lholder@umd.edu

Foundation and Corporate Relations 

  • Tracy Lee, Director, Corporate Relations
    4113 Riggs Alumni Center  | Phone: 301-405-4928 | Emailtracylee@umd.edu
    Assistant: Sandra Waldrop  |  Phone: 301-405-4092  |  swaldrop@umd.edu

Graduate School

  • Jeffrey Franke, Assistant Dean
    2123 Lee Building  |  Phone: 301-405-4205  |  Email: jfranke@umd.edu
    Assistant: Amanda Strausser | Phone: 301-405-6732 | Email: astraus3@umd.edu

Office of the President

  • Virginia Meehan, Director of Federal Relations
    1131 Main Administration Building  |  Phone: 301-405-2065  |  Email: vmeehan@umd.edu
    Assistant: Amina DeHarde | Phone: 301-405-8359 | Email: adeharde@umd.edu

Office of the Senior VP & Provost

  • Mariah Bauer, Director
    0107 Main Admin  |  Phone: 301-405-6817  |  Email: mbauer@umd.edu

Office of Technology Commercialization

  • Felizia Metz, Senior Intellectual Property Manager
    2130 Mitchell Building  |  Phone: 301-405-2797  |  Email: fametz@umd.edu

  • Julie Lenzer, Associate VP of Innovation & Co-Director of UM Ventures
    2130 Mitchell Building  |  Phone: 301-405-2960  |  Email: jlenzer@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Susie Pesce  |  Phone:301-405-6499  |  Email: spesce@umd.edu

Office of the Vice President for Research

  • Elise Carbonaro, Director of Communications
    2114 Lee Building  | Phone: 301-405-6501 | Email: ecarbo@umd.edu

  • Hana Kabashi, Program Manager
    2114 Lee Building  | Phone: 301-405-4178| Email: hkabashi@umd.edu

  • John Sawyer, Director of Strategic Corporate Partnerships
    2203 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building  | Phone: 301-314-8132 | Email: jsawyer2@umd.edu

Robert H. Smith School of Business

  • Ritu Agarwal, Professor; Associate Dean for Research
    2416F Van Munching Hall  |  Phone: 301-405-3121  |  Email: ragarwal@rhsmith.umd.edu
    Assistant: Maura Arnold | Phone: 301-405-1545 | Email: mschille@umd.edu

School of Architecture, Planning & Preservation

  • Donald Linebaugh, Associate Dean for Research
    National Center for Smart Growth (START)
    1247 Architecture Building  |  Phone: 301-405-6309  |  Email: dwline@umd.edu
    Assistant: Ruth Davis-Rogers | Phone: 301-405-0753 | Email: rdrogers@umd.edu

School of Public Health

  • Dushanka Kleinman, Professor & Associate Dean for Research
    3310 School of Public Health Building  |  Phone: 301-405-2438  |  Email: dkleinma@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Caitlin Waite  |  Phone:301-405-2437  |  Email: cwaite@umd.edu

School of Public Policy

  • Philip Joyce, Senior Associate Dean and Professor
    2101 Van Munching Hall  |  Phone: 301-405-6330  |  Email: pgjoyce@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Katharine Zang  |  Phone:301-405-0467  |  Email: kzang@umd.edu

Connect

social iconstwitterlinkedinrssYouTube
Division of Research
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-1541

Email: vpr@umd.edu
© Copyright 2017 University of Maryland

Did You Know

UMD's entrepreneurship education programs are ranked among the best in the U.S. by Princeton Review & Entrepreneur Magazine.